Three Things I Wish I'd Known: Jodi LeBlanc

Jodi LeBlanc
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 18, 2018

I have been an Atlassian Community member for a couple of years now and I absolutely love it. I sure wish this series existed back when I started, as it took me some time to move from lurker to contributor, as I didn't know what I didn't know. I am still learning every day, but fully enjoying the experience - I have learned a tonne, and connected with some amazing people. Here are three things I wish I'd known when I first joined the community:

1) Don't be intimidated by the Atlassian Community login screen stats

IMG_4176.jpg

Where I am from there is a population of 145,000 people for the whole Island, so seeing those numbers jump out at me when logging into my account for the first time was intimidating, with 2,452,318+ members. As large as the community is, it doesn't feel that large or overwhelming once you dive in. It has a small community feel the way it is structured and organized.

diver.jpg

Take advantage of the Welcome Center. This didn't exist when I was a new member, but I wish it did! What a gem of a resource for new members to the community. Think of it as the shallow part of the ocean where we learn to scuba dive before we venture into the rest of the limitless depths. With a manageable number of discussions (300 posts), and a nice size group of individuals (339+) to engage and connect with as you navigate the community. Learning together, in my opinion, is so much more enjoyable. 

The "Welcome Watercooler - say hello" is a great post to get started.

water cooler.jpg

2) Earn badges for your engagement efforts