Hello Atlassian Community

William Naughton August 21, 2020

Hi, my name is Bill and I work at a small company outside Boston.  I am a big fan of the Atlassian tools.  I am a Jira Admin and an evangelist who works on promoting our Confluence and Jira tools across the organization.  I have a question.  What do you find is the best method to get people onboard?  Is it communities of practice, training, a combination of the two?  

Thanks and I look forward to being an active participant in the community.

5 comments

Comment

Alexander Bondarev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 21, 2020

Hello, @William Naughton !
Welcome to the community!

Personally, my opinion is that getting people to switch to this or that tool is difficult and wrong.

But since we all know that JIRA and Confluence are the best tools for specific needs, we need to help people understand and try it!

If we talk about JIRA, then you need to start by analyzing the processes, decompose them and taking into account all the possibilities of JIRA to automate them. At the same time, people should see improvements in their processes, processes should become understandable, visual for everyone, the communication threshold decreases and joint comfortable work begins(collaboration).

If we talk about Confluence, then here you also need to understand “What does your company and your colleagues need?”, For example, implement a wiki or an intranet portal.
Use all the capabilities of the tool, show how to do it correctly, post interesting material to involve collegues - over time, people themselves will ask you to give them the opportunity to use the tool!

As a result, I believe that you need to listen to your colleagues and correctly understand their needs, and then choose the right tool and use all its possibilities!