Missed Team ’24? Catch up on announcements here.

Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is the free trello releasing the ability to let everyone be admins on a team

Ronni April 21, 2020

I've been using Trello now for 5 years.  I love it. I manage my clients by giving access to a trello team for their space.

However I see that Trello is now going to make everyone an Admin of a Free trello team.

This is not what I want.  I pay for Trello Gold - so I can use additional powerups per client.  I don't want my clients to give access to anyone else to the team.  It's a place for me - the consultant - and the person I am working with/for only.

Given that upgrading to Business - is per team only, this will become so costly for me to use.

I really don't want to go back to Goggle docs for managing clients.

3 answers

3 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Michael Pryor
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 21, 2020

Hi Ronni,

I'm the cofounder of Trello.  First, I wanted to thank you for being a Trello user for 5 years and I'm really happy that you love it.

I'm going to borrow a bunch of what @Iain Dooley already wrote, but this change won't affect permissions on your boards. 

Team Admins can a) add/remove other users, and b) upgrade to Business Class.  First, we are trying to remove friction for people to upgrade.  Second, we want to remove the friction and the burden of team organization from only the team creator and open that up to all team users.  Lastly, we believe that most teams trust each other and when they need extra certainty on that trust, it aligns with our Business Class product and the features we have added there for control and security.  We've already had this change out for new teams for a few months already.