Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start and end dates within custom fields

Daniel O-Connor September 13, 2019

Hello, I'm new to Trello and I'm wondering if there is a way to assign start and end dates to custom fields within a Trello card and also assign a team member to the task in the custom fields so that I can track work assignments over periods of time within a calendar for individual team members.  Thanks

2 answers

0 votes
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 16, 2019

@Daniel O-Connor it sounds like what you want to do is have a single card that acts as a collection point for sub-tasks, each of which has their own start and end dates and person assigned to them. If that's the case, you could use the sub tasking methods I outlined here:

https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Trello-articles/Trello-Subtasks-with-Butler/ba-p/1060392

combined with custom fields you will be able to track individual progress of related cards with their own dates

Daniel O-Connor September 17, 2019

Lain, thanks for the response and help.  I was able to follow what you outlines in the link and set up Subtasks for individual Trello cards.  Is there a way to include a start date along with the end date for each subtask?  My goal is to be able to view the subtasks timelines like a Gant chart.  I don't know if that is possible with wth Calendar or Planyway Planner.  

Regards,

Dan

Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 1, 2019