It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Some basics needed on Trello's Rest API Edited

Hey everyone

I am very new to working with APIs but have used Trello for a long time. At my workplace, I have got my team using Trello to manage our tasks. I'm responsible for producing a weekly report on the progress of said tasks. Currently I do that using a connection with Bridge24, a filter within Bridge24 to export to Excel. Then I use Get&Transform to query the export to produce what I want. This is a fairly complicated way of doing it, but now it's set up, isn't too time consuming.

What I really want to do is use Trello's API and plug that into Microsoft Power BI and have the data from Trello refresh instantly.

I have been experimenting and can get certain information into PowerBI as a query from data source type "web".

When I'm researching and looking for answers, I see a lot of posts that say something along the lines of: "you need to call this and then call this". Is this done in one long URL, or do I need to make multiple URLs and string them together somehow (in PowerBI, blank query and use PHP or something?

I have many questions but I'll start with this one first!

Thanks for reading.

2 answers

0 votes
Iain Dooley Community Leader Nov 20, 2018

@Dean_Rowntree You might like to try this framework I wrote for automating Trello with Google Apps Script:

https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Trello-articles/Introducing-Trellinator-Automate-Trello-with-Google-Apps-Script/ba-p/925271

It dramatically simplifies the task of creating complex automations, including reporting. It's loosely based on the work from this guy:

http://www.littlebluemonkey.com/blog/automated-trello-reporting-using-google-spreadsheets