Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question About the New Markdowns and Quoted List Items

sjgreys February 13, 2023

Hi, I have a question with the recent update.

I've been using Trello for a few years now on various projects, and even just last week everything was working as it always has.

After booting it up yesterday and editing a new card, I noticed the text editor has changed. After googling a bit and seeing this update has been in the works for a while I'm thinking that the old markdown system has simply been phased-out, forcing me to use it, or my version only just updated.

This wouldn't be too much of an issue, and seems like it would actually be useful; however, one of the markdowns I use frequently is to create lists, and then under a list item use the Quotation markdown followed by another list to layout sub-items.

This would normally go:

- List Item A
>- Sub-Item A
>- Sub-Item B
>- Etc.
- List Item B

Unfortunately, when I try to do this now only the first sub-item gets the bullet point, and the others keeps their "-" character.

When I manually view the Markdown, it reads like this

> - Sub-Item A
> \- Sub-Item B

As I understand, the "\" character removes formatting if it comes before a markdown, but I am not adding this, it is automatically added.

Is there something I'm missing, or has this feature been removed? I have used it on many of my cards, thus breaking the formatting on many things.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Lara
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 14, 2023

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out!

Hmm, that sounds strange. I tried to replicate what you were seeing but was unable to.

When I create a list using "-" and then create a subtask by pressing enter and then tab, the list saves as expected.

Image 2023-02-15 at 3.18.45 pm.png