Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Putting Text Content in completely without it breaking each line into tasks

Teri Jo Wheeler May 31, 2022

Hi i am new to trello and can't figure out how to put text content into cards without the trello system separating each line space of the text into separate tasks.

eg: If i want to put this in: 

John is my friend.

I have known him for 25 years and we met in high school.

He is clever and funny. 

---------

That piece of info comes in as three separate tasks. I do not want this. 

Help... I have searched for help and can't find the answer.

thanks 

1 answer

0 votes
Hannah Humbert - Simpla Workflows
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 31, 2022

Hi @Teri Jo Wheeler ! Welcome to the community :) Are you referring to the checklist items within your card as shown below?

checkist.PNG

When adding the title of the checklist item, if it has line breaks like so:

Item A
Item B
Item C

Trello will generate 3 separate checklist items. I don't believe there's a way to turn off this functionality. If you'd prefer all of that information to be contained in one checklist item, you would need to enter it in without line breaks:

Item A Item B Item C

When replicating this with creating cards, Trello asks if you want separate cards or just one card:

line breaks.PNG

If you wanted, you could reach out to Trello directly to see if this is something they could implement for checklists as well! https://trello.com/contact#/

Yes, this is the problem.

When I put it on 'just one card' it all gets jammed together and is hard to read which then makes it useless for me to use trello for content - as I have lots of text to store here.