Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to have a Kanban view based on a custom field?

Jason Isbister June 8, 2020

Hello to the Trello community!

I am new to Trello.  I am trying out the Business Class free trial.

My question: If I create a custom field, can I create a kanban view that will sort my cards and tasks according to the values i choose in the custom field?

Please let me know if you need more details.

Thank you in advance - Jason

1 answer

0 votes
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 8, 2020

@Jason Isbister there's only one kanban view as such in Trello (board has lists, lists have cards) but you can sort lists by custom field using Butler.

What's the use case? Maybe I can provide a better answer with a little more detail on how you plan to use it.

Jason Isbister June 10, 2020

Hi Iain,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to read through my issue.

We support advertisement placements for a grocery store.  They offer 40+ placement options as "week ending on".  These placements run from Thursdays thru to the following Wednesday.

So, we manage our projects and/or sub-tasks as "WEO" (week ending on).  Example; this week would have been WEO june 10.  Next week will be WEO june 17, so on and so forth.

I would like to create a custom field with all the yearly WEOs, and, when we need to see a view by WEOs, be able to sort my Kanban list in that way.

I hope this gives you more context.  If not, I'd be more than happy to schedule some time to speak voice to voice over a Zoom session or something.

Thank you again, Iain.  Can't wait to see what you have to share.

PS: where can I read up on how the "Butler" feature could help with the Kanban lists?

Thanks - Jason

Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader