Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to have Trello select a random card from a board?

Patti B June 2, 2020

I'm using Trello to manage a fairly large list of small tasks.    I would love to have a Trello board that functions as a job jar, and just have it choose one of the cards and hand it to me.  Does something like this already exist?  Is it something that could be done with Butler?

Assuming the answer is no, would power-ups be a good tool for implementing this?  I'm a software engineer, and even though I'm crap at front-end work I could probably muddle my way through the process.

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 2, 2020

@Patti B This Butler command would do it:

2020-06-02 at 11.18 pm.png

Patti B June 2, 2020

Thank you!  

Do you know if it's possible to turn that into a push-button operation?  I kind of want to turn it into a task pellet dispenser. 

(Button)  Reorganize the silverware drawer.

... done.  What next?

(Button)  Wash the living room windows.

bs
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 2, 2020

You could create a board button and tell it, on being pressed, to move a random card selected from a list to another list.  That should do it?

Like Iain Dooley likes this
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 2, 2020

@Patti B also it looks like you might be doing tasks that are kind of "recurring maintenance". I use this for my home maintenance board:

2020-06-03 at 12.00 pm.pngThe tasks look like this:

2020-06-03 at 12.03 pm.png