Is is possible to develop code for Trello to automate specific client reuirements

Peter Cranston April 19, 2023

Hi,

I am already familiar with Trello Butler and using it widely for my current clients however I am now getting more complex automation requirements for which Butler does not have a solution.

For example my client has a rental out date and a rental in date. He would like trello to automatically calculate the duration and in addition to use this duration to update a new  rental in date when he manually changes the rental out date.

I appreciate this may require some coding experience and would appreciate it if anyone can advise if there is a  language or a power up solution.

I see similar requests as my clients become more experienced with Trello

I am not a coder and if we can justfy the cost would subcontact this.

Thanks,

Peter C.

4 answers

4 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Тимур Сиразиев April 20, 2023

Hi. For my company, I also supplemented Butler with the code that I wrote myself, as a result, 80% of the automation is now done by my code.

At first I used web applications in Google Apps Script (run javascript code), and its logging in Google Cloud.

Then I wrote my server in Node.js (+ Express ) and ran it on an Oracle virtual machine.

Contact me, let's chat. I will tell you in detail about the points that interest you, maybe I already have ready-made solutions for your requests.

0 votes
Answer accepted
Vongsawat
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 20, 2023

The Trello REST API allows for HTTP requests to hook it up to say a dedicated program on some server to do more complex operations. Or up to Zapier/Make and similar freemium automation sites for simpler things. Though others are more specialized in this than me.