Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to modify reminders?

Mikey_Kuplevatsky September 16, 2017

I'm relatively new to Trello and love how productive it makes me feel, whether I'm writing notes or creating tasks. However, one thing poorly implemented in my opinion is reminders. I'm wondering if there's a way for due date reminders to remind me at a custom time. Just one day in advance makes no sense to me. I should be able to do minutes, days, hours, etc. before the due date. Custom reminders, in a way. This is the only thing I feel like Trello implemented poorly. The more reminders I have set up, the more productive I am -- and Trello seems to have some random strict policy for no apparent reason for reminders.

2 answers

1 vote
Matthew N
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 18, 2017

Hey Mikey

Unfortunately, there's not a way to change the timing of the due date notifications within Trello. You could link your Trello due dates to an external calendar and change how you're notified that way, if you'd like. For this, I'd recommend checking out Trello.cronofy.com to link the calendar. 

Another option would be to add Butlerbot to your Trello board.  Then use a command to write a comment and mention you. The command would be something like 

the moment a card is due, post comment "@{creatorusername} This card is due!"

or

two hours before a card is due, post comment "@{creatorusername} This card is due!"

Mikey_Kuplevatsky September 18, 2017

Matthew,

Thanks incredibly for the helpful response!

Do you know of anywhere I can get support for creating the command for Butler? I've played around with it, but it seems to me that it has a bit of a learning curve.