Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Card Repeater Power-Up - task repeating every 2 weeks starts in 1 week

Jun Kamata October 22, 2017

Hello,

I'm new to Trello so I assume this is user error.  Please let me know how I can correct this!  (I did read the related threads and think this is a different Q)a

I have a task that I've created - let's stay it's for Tuesday, October 24, 2017.

I want it to repeat every two weeks on Tuesday - Nov, 7, Nov 21, Dec 5, etc.

But in the Card Repeater Power-Up (from within the Task), when I select

• "Repeats:  Weekly"
  • "On:  Tu"
  • "Every:  2 Weeks"

It says "You will see this card repeat on October 31, 2017 and November 14, 2017".

So it's getting the every 2 weeks part right except for the initial repeat which is in only in 1 week.  As a result, all of the weeks are off-cycle by 1 week.

Please help!

Thanks,

Jun

7 answers

5 votes
Marc Hassman March 15, 2019

Need a 'set first instance date' field.

Dayna Deaner March 17, 2024

If by "set first instance date" you mean "start date", then this still does not work for me. If by "set first instance date" you mean something else, please explain. 

4 votes
sleeke June 18, 2018

I'm also having this issue - it's very frustrating, and also happens with all x-week cards.

It's somehow linked to the time you set; if the time you set the card to appear is in the future, it seems to work correctly, adding a repeat for that time, and x weeks in the future. The problem is that the first occurrence will always be on the next incidence of the day/time you select.

The best workarounds I can think of right now are:

• If scheduling on the day you want it to appear:
    • Set the recurrence time to a time in today's future
    • Set to 2 week frequency
    • Accept that you'll never get this card to appear at the right time ...unless you can remember to schedule it in the week before you want it to appear, as below: