Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can I build a Power-up that can alter width of Trello Lists?

Andrew Davis February 7, 2019

Hello, I really like almost everything in Trello, except for the fixed/width lists.
I have very small pieces of information I wish to use Trello lists for, and the excess width makes things difficult for me. (Almost to the point of looking for a different product)

I don't mind doing the work of developing a power-up that can do so, if that is even possible.
However, I'm very new to Trello, I read a bit of the power-up documentation, but do not have a full understanding yet.

My questions are:

1) Is it possible to develop a power-up that can alter the width of Trello lists?

2) Does the Trello team have any plans of making list width control a native feature?

I can "fix" this myself on Google Chrome using CSS, or one of the many chrome extensions available, however, I'm not interested in this solution, as I would like to use Trello both on my mobile device and Windows store app, both of which chrome extensions naturally cannot interact with.

Thank you,
Andrew

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Iain Dooley
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 7, 2019

@Andrew Davis no this isn't possible in a power up, only a browser extension

Thanks for the response and for confirming this.

That is quite unfortunate.
I hope they will consider adding this feature.
That one small change will give a lot of flexibility to users.

I'm currently using Trello more as a "Day Planner", and most of m task list are simple 1-2 words like: Sleep, Wake, Breakfast, Reply Clients, Develop XYZ, etc...

Trello seems almost perfect for what I'd like to do (and nice cross device compatibility), except that 2/3rd's of my valuable screen width is wasted empty space.