Butler - card content change + e-mailed in

Stijn Van Doninck April 6, 2021

Hi All,

I just started to use Butler for Trello and am very excited of its functionalities!

However, I'm still a newbie and need to digest more learning material to improve my skills.

Currently I am using Trello as tool to follow inbound shipments, including the ETA date in the card name. As this date can change and more oftenly does, I would like to automatically inform my stakeholders of this change.

To be specific:

When an ETA changes, the stakeholder should get an e-mail with changed ETA date and related card name.

I managed to set up a rule that e-mails an ETA change on a certain board when a checklist is completed, but it does not relate specific data from the card (its name and changed ETA date).

So here's where I got stuck and could do with a little advice from the experts.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 6, 2021

@Stijn Van Doninck 

Once the card is created with the ETA on the card name it is just part of a string not a variable. However you rename the card using {{%ETA}}. 

milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 6, 2021

@Stijn Van Doninck 

For “but it does not relate specific data from” - presumably you want to add variables like {triggercardname} or {{%ETA}} to the email body. Is that what you are asking?

Thx for the fast reply!

I think it concerns indeed variables like {triggercardname} or {{%ETA}} to be added to the email body.

However, I'm not familiar with variables, still have to learn this part.

milynnus
Rising Star