Board limit of 10, what happens after.. AND quick advice on how to use teams

Paul Fitzgerald January 30, 2021

I'm totally new to the idea of teams.     And I know the limit is 10 boards..

1) What happens if I reach 10 and accidentally click a new one..  I'm only on 4 boards now for personal notes etc. 

A) does it just warn me when I try "you'll have to pay."  or "delete this to go back to free"
B) does it say "You've reached 11, you now have to pay, there's no more free for you" 

2) AND if there's a team, does the team member on a free account lose their boards if they're a member of someone hitting 11.   i.e. if I go paid to team members need paid also?

3) Do team members need a paid account or just any?   I tried making someone a team member but they had no luck.   It could have been that person. 

sorry I know everyone wants a specific question. I seek data regarding overall hurdles and roadblocks so I can better navigate how any system is designed. 

Thanks in advance!

2 answers

4 votes
Soumyadeep Mandal - SaM
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 1, 2021

Hi @Paul Fitzgerald ,

Welcome to the community!

"1) What happens if I reach 10 and accidentally click a new one..  I'm only on 4 boards now for personal notes etc. "

• When you reach 10 boards you will not able to create new boards. The create new board button will be greyed out.

You can Create Multiple Teams in the Free plan.

A) does it just warn me when I try "you'll have to pay."  or "delete this to go back to free"

• It won't warn you or delete any of your boards. It will remain the same. As I have told you can create multiple teams because Trello is still supported unlimited boards you can check the features & plans HERE

B) does it say "You've reached 11, you now have to pay, there's no more free for you"