Automation to move cards between boards

Cheri Balding March 7, 2022

Use Case: I run a sheet metal manufacturing shop. I have a Masterboard set up along with boards for each area of my shop. Each job we run has a different order of operations needed to complete the job. I have set up each area's board with "to do" "in process" and "done" lists. When a team member finishes a process, I want them to be able to move the card into their done folder and have the automation tell it where to go next. I have figured out how to create a rule to make all of the cards proceed to the same board/list, but I need to be able to customize it based on the specific job. Is there a way to define the rules for each card individually?

1 answer

0 votes
Hannah Humbert - Simpla Workflows
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 7, 2022

Hi @Cheri Balding ! Welcome to the community. You can create conditional triggers in Butler so that only certain cards follow a rule. Do you have a set logic that determines where cards should go based on the job type? For example, the card gets a specific label to indicate the job type - when a card has a certain job type label, it should go to a specific board/list.

Cheri Balding March 7, 2022

My shop has as many as 40+ processes. Some jobs will go through as many as 10+ of them, and the order can vary as well. Each job is custom and I don't think I could fit them into a "job type" category. I was hoping I could maybe make a checklist for each job, and when an Item is checked and the card is moved into the done category, the job could move to the "to do" list on the board with the title of the next checklist item. Does this make sense?

Community Leader
Community Leader