cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start Building with Trello

Jodi LeBlanc
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 22, 2019

I have been using Trello since 2015, but want to start diving deeper and want to explore how to develop a powerup. This is what I came across when I started researching:

The best way to build on top of Trello is to create a Power-Up! With Power-Ups you can add buttons to cards and boards, show previews of attachments on Trello cards, and much more - all inside of Trello! Power-Ups add extra functionality inside of Trello and let you and your team work with more perspective. Some Power-Ups help you automate your workflows, others give you a new view into the data you have stored in cards.

https://developers.trello.com/docs/get-started

I also want to start trying out more of the existing 100+ power-ups that are already available via Trello.

Have you designed or developed any power-ups or do you have any neat ideas you are considering?

1 comment

marc -Collabello--Phase Locked-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 23, 2019

@Jodi LeBlancYep, I'm working on a power-up.  It's about making collaboration with non-Trello people easier from Trello.

Building a power-up requires a deep dive into programming.  So my recommendation (if you are not a programmer) would be to build a use case you want to be solved.

Once you have this, try to make rough pencil sketches of each step a user should take, and decide if these steps are inside or outside of Trello.