Bullet journalling using Trello

mogavenasan
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 9, 2021

I have been using Trello for about 3 years now to plan my weekly task. I started bullet journalling in the traditional way - a book and a pen; which I need to invest some time creating the columns and etc. Few weeks into it, I needed something that can be accessed while I’m outside - I didn’t have the journal with me all the time. So I was looking for some online solution that will help me to update the journal anytime as long as I have my mobile phone with me. Trello was one of the solutions, it is free, easy to use and I’m good with APIs. So I build a bunch of automation using Zapier (back then Butler was a third-party power up and had quite a limitation).

Moving forward, I had a bit of a problem with Zapier and I needed more automation - I moved all the automation to Google Apps Script. 3 years later, I’m still using all the automation, spent almost none hours on maintaining the automation. You can read about what I have done here.

Maybe, this year, if I have the time, I will take a look into the Butler and see if I can migrate everything from what I have in GAS to Butler's rules.

I hope that this article helps someone that have similar ideas. If you are already using it in a way similar to mine, feel free to share! 

Have a nice day folks.

Cheers,
Moga

1 comment

milynnus
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 9, 2021

@mogavenasan