Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our Fail Tales Speakers share their top tips around failure, and how we can be better because of it

Fail Tales, a storytelling event celebrating failure, is coming up next week on July 26! Our speakers, @Matt Doar, @Anita Kalmane@Ashley Faus will share three vulnerable stories about managing failure.

Screen Shot 2022-06-09 at 7.44.14 AM.png

We asked our speakers to answer a few questions to get us thinking about failure and how it can help us become more resilient, and to get us excited for the event!

Screen Shot 2022-07-18 at 4.47.23 PM.jpg

Matt:

I'm pretty cautious by nature. I really don't like to fail, though it became easier as I became more experienced. That sounds backwards - surely it should be easier to fail when I'm new at something? So perhaps instead it's an age-related thing.

After many years of working with Atlassian and other tools, I'm ok with things sometimes not working out as I expected. It happens.

Anita:

I might be seeing failure differently than most people... When a task isn't completed as expected or the result doesn't work out as planned - I'd still take that as a learning opportunity, and any time when you can learn, you don't fail. I've had quite a few of those learning opportunities when the outcome wasn't as expected, but I don't consider them failures.

Failure itself for me is more about letting people down and not keeping your promises. You fail yourself, in a way. And you fail others.

Ashley:

I'm a marketer, writer, and speaker by day, and a singer, actor, and fitness fiend by night. To me, failure means that I didn't hit the goals I laid out. That could mean hard metrics, like entrances to a website, or soft metrics, like having the right attitude or mindset about something.