Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Open Roads, Open Roles: How Jira Consultant Rachel Wright celebrates a remote work lifestyle

This month, we’re celebrating the AtlassiVan and all things Team Anywhere and Ways of Working by featuring @Rachel Wright, a Jira Consultant, Community Leader, and world traveler! We hope you’re inspired by her experience on the road and her top learnings on a lifestyle embracing remote work.

RachelSocial.001.jpeg

Hi, I’m Rachel Wright, certified Jira administrator and author of the Jira Strategy Admin Workbook. In 2015, I took my Atlassian skills on the road. I left the corporate world to travel the United States in an RV while helping organizations choose, configure, maintain, and migrate their software.

How Jira opened new doors

My Atlassian journey started in 2011 and I’ve been in a relationship with Jira since.

jira.jpg

As a web developer, I was immediately impressed with how flexible and customizable the software was. At the 2013 user conference, I marched right up to the Community desk, hoping to join the local user group in my area. When I learned there wasn’t one, I volunteered to start it.

Before college, I started a web development company to help clients automate business tasks, communicate with customers, and close sales online. I was fully invested in the web development industry and was sure I’d do it my entire life. But then I fell in love with Jira, started a consulting company, and my life will never be the same!

table.jpg

Preparation for the road and biggest lessons

We did five months of research before working on the road. And of course, we tracked our preparation tasks in Jira and recorded our destination details in Confluence.