Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

From multiple JPD roadmaps to a single Plan

Hi there everyone!

I'm a Program Manager at Atlassian and I work in the part of the company that develops Jira. I’d like to share with you how I solved the challenge of bringing together multiple roadmaps (created in different Jira Product Discovery projects) into a single view using Plans (formerly known as Advance Roadmaps).

What problem did I want to solve?

Jira is developed by many teams within Atlassian (we refer to this as the Jira Organisation), and these teams are organised into small groups that each have a shared mission (we refer to these as Pillars). Each Pillar maintains a roadmap in their own JPD project for how they plan to move their mission forward, which in turn moves the overall Jira mission forward.

The trouble we found with roadmaps being in different JPD projects is that it was difficult to see the overall roadmap for Jira. For example, if someone wanted to find out what's shipping across all of Jira in the next quarter, they would either need to check many JPD projects - each of which is configured differently according to team preference - or they'd need to speak to each of the roadmap owners - and then compile the information in Confluence. All in all, it would take a lot of time to gather what should ideally be readily available information.

Screenshot 2024-06-03 at 4.32.43 PM.png

I've solved this in a way which, after the initial setup, still allows everyone to use their JPD projects almost exactly as they were and with minimal effort to show items on a singular, overall roadmap. Read on below to find out how!

The Solution

Step 1: Add Global Fields to the JPD projects

Global Fields are the key to this setup, and there's 2 that are essential: