Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My role for Opsgenie is Admin, but I can't modify notification rules

Doug Garcia January 19, 2023

My role listed under People > Users shows that I'm an Admin for Opsgenie.  I was recently asked to see if I can modify individuals Notification rules (e.g. some people don't want a text message for a certain level alert, others don't want emails for other alerts, etc).  However, whenever I go to each individual, there is no way to modify their settings.  I'm assuming this is due to a global template that I either can't find or don't have permission to change?

Any help would be appreciated.

1 answer

1 vote
Nick H
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 19, 2023

Hi @Doug Garcia ,

If you are listed as an Admin in your Opsgenie and cannot edit users' notification rules - that leads me to believe a Central Notification Template is configured.

You can find those under the Settings >> Central notification templates tab within Opsgenie. If this is applied to a users's role you are trying to edit, you will not be able to since these standardize notification rules depending on the account role of your Opsgenie user(s).

Doug Garcia January 19, 2023

Ok, thank you for the answer.  Yes, I was concerned I couldn't modify per user, but had to be global.  Makes sense.  Thanks!

Like Nick H likes this
Adithya Viswanathan May 17, 2023

@Doug Garcia Thank for the suggestion. I am currently using JSM free plan (Standard) with admin permission, and I do not see Settings >> Central notification templates tab within Opsgenie in my settings of OpsGenie.