Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Alias field

Sanchit Aggarwal November 19, 2019

Hi Team,

I am new to this OpsGenie tool and I want to stop duplication of alerts receiving through emails. Everytime a new alert appear, It will create new alert.

When a ticket is created in JIRA, It will updated in Opsgenie also but when an alert is created in opsgenie, new ticket is not created in JIRA.

Please help me out in these matters.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Andrew Laden
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 20, 2019

Is your Jira cloud, or on prem? That will impact how the process works.

In general, you have to think of this as two different integrations. 

Jira -> OpsGenie. In this case, When a Jira ticket is created, it sends a notification to opsgenie to reach out to the on call user. But the ticket itself is (usually) managed in Jira

OpsGenie -> Jira. In this case, some other integration in opsgenie creates an incident in opsgenie, and that alert creates a jira ticket. In this case, you can may manage the initial response in opsgenie, but do follow up in jira. (it all depends on what you want to do)

What you want to be careful of is trying to use both at the same time, so you don't end up in a loop. 

So the real question is what do you want to do?

Sanchit Aggarwal November 21, 2019

Hey,

I am using JIRA server.

I integrated my opsgenie with email integration to create alerts according to emails and after that alerts need to create ticket in JIRA.

Here alerts are created with emails but JIRA is not creating tickets according to alerts. I have also generated API token for integration but still it is not working.

Andrew Laden
Rising Star
Rising Star