Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newby looking for some helpful hints with JSM and HR Service Management tricks

tom_sheffield April 26, 2022

Hi folks,

I am relatively new to Jira Service Management and I did get the HR Service Management template and set up Service Project specifically for onboarding new employees. I am really interested in hearing about any cool and innovative things folks have done with this to streamline the process.

Really appreciate any guidance provided.

Sincerely, 

Tom. 

5 comments

Comment

Mike Rathwell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 26, 2022

HI @tom_sheffield 

The templates are great to get you going. They are, however, only a solid first approximation.

Your next task, after your HR team gets settled into the new world is find out what they don't like and fix that first.

After that, head down the path of asking them what you can do for the cases where they get email, including group email, for service requests. Make that. Lean on automation for repetitive tasks, assignments, etc.

From there, start looking at Jira Forms to do one of two things:

• Dynamic forms to make tediously long forms short and to the point
  • Forms to capture detailed information without having to make them part of the Jira ticket.

That's just a guideline of where to go. I have used JSM to get all the service requests for each of HR, Payroll, and Accounts Payable, among others including the usual tech requests under the same service portal.

Like Liam Green likes this
tom_sheffield April 26, 2022

Hi Mike,

I really appreciate you insight and recommendation on the next steps in this adventure.  I had started thinking that was the next logical step and am now more confident in continue with that approach.