cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time user seeking guidance

Maarten-Jan Waasdorp
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
December 1, 2021

Hi, I am very new to Confluence. How did you learn your way through this tool to become the expert you are right now?

6 answers

5 accepted

Suggest an answer

4 votes
Answer accepted
Meg Bailey
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 1, 2021

Hi @Maarten-Jan Waasdorp and welcome! đź‘‹ Echoing others' support for the Confluence Fundamentals guide from Atlassian University. The Confluence Product Guide is also a great place to start. It has tons of resources linked – everything from a Quick start guide to use-case specific guides (like documentation and content management), videos and blog posts. 

0 votes
Answer accepted
Maarten-Jan Waasdorp
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
December 2, 2021

Guys, thank you all for your great suggestions. I'll get going and will be back for more, I am sure!

0 votes
Answer accepted
Amelia Giuliani December 2, 2021

I watched some of the university videos and documentation that Atlassian has but honestly, the best way I learn is by doing. I started by deciding how to organize content - is a space a team, or a project, or what? Do I need special permissions to view some documents, etc. Map it out and it will make sure you stay on track. 

Then I started to use the templates to get ideas and see how I wanted to organize things. Then I started importing word documents of processes we had or copying and pasting information first. 

As you get more comfortable with things using the / to pull macros is really useful.