Using Confluence and Jira but maybe not to full potential - could anyone help?

Normand Provost April 1, 2019

Hello

I'm new in this space. I don't have a technical background - more business & marketing - and I'm not the administrator on Confluence neither Jira. Our non-for-profit association is been using Confluence for 4 years and Jira for at least one year. Base on what I found, I think many features could be use to help built roadmap, track enhancement and built report to the Board. Not the case today!

We have 9 Technical Working Groups that all work in silos and need to report their yearly roamap plan using Confluence ( more like a wiki to exchange information and share documents) to our Technical Steering Committee. Change Request (for 4 out 9 groups) are managed via Jira. When creating tickets, not all the fields are filled. 

Looking for advise and help on how I could assess quickly what we do, if we are using the right way but more importantly, how we could benefit for all the functions and features available.

Regards

NP

5 comments

Comment

Frederik De Roover
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 1, 2019

You could look for a partner in your neighbourhood, they can work with you in optimizing your workflow and show you every part of the applications.

Thanks Frederick. I'm part of the Montreal Atlassian User Group. One of them may answer.

Regards

NP

James Bullock April 1, 2019

Hi, @Normand Provost 

Looking for advise and help on how I could assess quickly what we do ... how we could benefit for all the functions and features available.

Like this:

• Like incremental development... 
    • Treat the features you're not using as a backlog.
    • Look to *pull from* the backlog when you're annoyed, as you do it.