How do you use Confluence for documentation?

Karen O'Keefe January 4, 2019

I'm looking for a way to use Confluence to manage documentation. I'm poking around and am having a hard time knowing where to start.

2 answers

2 votes
Kesha Thill
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 4, 2019

Hi @Karen O'Keefe !

Would love to help. Can you tell me what kind of documentation you're trying to manage (i.e project documentation, team documentation, HR stuff, etc.)?

Karen O'Keefe January 4, 2019

I'm a technical writer in an IT department. We will have a variety of documentation:

• Process docs
  • Technical specs
  • Workflows
  • System docs
  • Possibly user docs
  • Schedules
  • Checklists
  • SCRUM docs
  • Etc
Kesha Thill
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 4, 2019

Got it - so it looks like there may be a mix of docs that are just relevant to your team and some that are relevant to your customers/employees (whoever your users are)?

If you have docs that are being written to be consumed by those outside your team then I'd create a space specifically for those docs. For example, we have a Workplace Technology space that is purely for the whole company to refer to if they have questions about process, systems, software, etc. In that space, we have setup the page tree hierarchy to be parent page for the topic and then child pages underneath that go into detail on the subtopics:

• Parent page: Setting up your computer
    • Setting up printer
    • Backing up files
    • article 3
    • article 4 and so on
  • Video Conferencing
    • article 1
    • article 2, etc.