Why can't I create a company managed project?

Matt Hixson January 13, 2022

I am an Administrator in our Jira instance. I wanted to create a new company managed project so that I could use workflow schemes. The Kanban and Scrum templates only allow me to create a team managed project; the company managed section is greyed out and it says to contact my Jira Admin. The Bug Tracking project type doesn't let me proceed at all and says, "Your Jira admin is responsible for creating new projects using this template. Contact them for assistance."

Is my "Jira admin" something different than an Administrator within Jira? And if so, what permissions do I need in order to create company managed projects?

Thanks.

1 answer

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Sam Nadarajan
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 13, 2022

Hello Matt! To create company-managed projects, you need to have the "Administer Jira" global permission. I'd start by figuring out what being a Jira admin means in your instance's configuration, maybe you're in a Jira Admin group but that group isn't specified as having the Administer Jira permission?

In any case, your user needs to be connected to a group that has the "Administer Jira" permission for you to be able to create company-managed projects!

Hi, Samuel. Thanks for your quick reply. I've had our Jira admin create a new company managed project for us and I'm an Administrator in the project. I can see the Workflows page where it has one workflow: "Software Simplified Workflow for Project Foo". There is nothing in the Actions column and I see no way to change the workflow. This seems like a step backwards from the team managed project because there I could at least edit my workflow.

Our project type is "Software project."

Is there a way to access the stock Jira Workflow Schemes that I'm missing?