Should I use Epics or Versions for release planning?

Emile Silvis February 9, 2016

I'm really new to Jira, so bear with me.

My question is whether I should use the "Epic" or "Version" construct to do release planning. Here's what I mean by release planning: let's say that we've got 40 stories, and we reckon it can be released in 4 chunks. Do we divide those 40 stories into 4 epics, or do we divide those 40 stories into 4 versions (or is there some other construct altogether I can use)?

Whatever I use, I'd like to view a board (Scrum and Kanban if possible) at a release level, as well as view reports at a release level.

Any guidance here is greatly appreciated.

3 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Rahul Aich [Nagra]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 9, 2016

hi Emile

Releases are supposed to be managed by versions on jira. So, if you think that 40 stories are going to be released to your customer in four version, i would set up for versions and assign those 40 to each of the four fix versions.

Now, this has got nothing to do with scrum or kanban boards. You do not need to have a 1:1 relationship with each sprint mapping to each version release. Each sprint can contain multiple customer releases and multiple sprints can constitute a big version release.

Rahul

Emile Silvis February 9, 2016

Thanks Rahul, that makes complete sense. So to extend the example, I could divide the 40 stories up into 4 releases, but the 40 stories could also be divided into 10 epics being delivered over 5 sprints. So seems like the "Version" construct is the solution.

Rei Kasai May 13, 2016