Project Management Template create columns that can create tasks

Lenin Falconi October 18, 2023

Hi, there I am new to this Jira World. I found very interesting the Project Management Template to trak a project I am directing. However, the template even though it lets to create new columns. I have noticed that only the ToDo Column is able to create issues. Any new column is not able to do it. Consequently, my question is how do I edit this behavior so that I create a new column which can create issues? I have checked to edit workflow but nothing has worked.

On the other hand I have noticed that Kanban templates allow to build any issue in any column but lack the view like list and calendar. So if the former is not possible How can I add to Kanban project the missing views that a project management template has?

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Mikael Sandberg
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 18, 2023

Hi @Lenin Falconi,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

You can only have one column that can create new issues, each column is tied to one or more statuses in a workflow and it is only the initial status that the create transition can be linked to, it cannot be linked to multiple statuses.

Screenshot 2023-10-18 at 12.53.13 PM.png 

Lenin Falconi October 18, 2023

Okey, got lost.... I am getting confused with things that Trello does or Asana..... Could you point me in the right direction please

Mikael Sandberg
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 18, 2023