Is there a Jira Windows app?

Salman Sulthan August 24, 2018

Is there a Jira Windows app?

7 answers

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

69 votes
Josh Lyon August 9, 2019

Just use the Create Shortcut feature in Chrome and tell it to open as a Window.

1. Open your Jira instance in Chrome
  2. Tap the ... menu in Chrome
  3. Select More Tools → Create Shortcut
  4. Check the box for 'Open as Window' to have it open like an app

Then you can add it to your Start Menu or Task Bar like a normal app (second to the last one)

image.png

And it opens like an app:

image.png

Mike Backhouse August 20, 2019

That's great thank you @Josh Lyon ! I've been using Jira for almost 2 years and been looking for a solution all that time

Does anyone know if it's possible to change the icon shown in the taskbar? Just to help differentiate between Chrome and Jira (It doesnt even have to be the official Jira logo)

Like # people like this
Abhishek Shukla August 27, 2019
  1. Pin the shortcut, you just created, to the taskbar.
  2. Close the "app".
  3. Hold down Shift and right-click on the pinned taskbar shortcut to show the regular explorer context menu.
  4. Click Properties.
  5. Under Shortcut, click the Change Icon button and pick an icon of your choice.

Ideally, Chrome gets the site's `favico.ico` and applies it as the shortcut's icon.

Like # people like this
Lorena February 27, 2020

I can't get it to work. I can save the shortcut, pin it, and change the icon, but once I close the Jira app is "gone". Clicking on the newly created shortcut opens up a new instance of Chrome. Nothing more...

Any tips?

Ciaran McCloskey April 26, 2020

Outstanding!

Thanks for that tip. I tried it in the Blisk browser first and it didn't work but when I switched to Chrome, it worked a treat.

lee_bartelme June 4, 2020