Cheers,

Hansi

4 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Deleted user July 11, 2018

Hi @Chethana Hashani,

To be able to delete an issue in Jira you need to have the correct project permission to do so. Check out a similar question. You will need to set yourself the permission Delete Issues on the project's permission scheme. in the project settings. 

Hope this helps

Deleted user July 11, 2018

Hi @Chethana Hashani,

I agree with @Joe Pitt's answer with regards to not deleting issues. I am a site admin myself and I have stripped the Delete Issues permission out for any user, including myself. Joe is correct this will always lead to loss of data and users eventually wanting to review previous issues. 

However, I have to assume that your intention to delete an issue is not taken into account lightly. Neither did you ask the community what, if any, best practices there might be for deleting issues, rather you requested the method to delete issues. 

If you can use an alternative method for "fencing/archiving" issues, such as the one stated by Joe, that would be the better option. 

Hope this helps 

Like # people like this
1 vote
IFB Solutions December 20, 2021

Just an FYI, I wanted to know how to do this so I could remove information that was accidently added to the ticketing system that should never have been put there in the first place.  

Nathaniel Miller March 2, 2022

This is extremely important to any regulated industries especially. There is material that can be erroneously added to a system that is required by law, in some cases, to be expunged.

In general I agree with the "never delete a ticket" crowd, accept when you need to purge material that should never have been there in the first place.

Like # people like this
1 vote
Joe Pitt
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 11, 2018