How can I make the components field writable when creating an issue

tstahr June 26, 2012

Hi,

I am new to Jira and am setting up the system.

I set up an "Add Issue" screen to be shown when creating an issue and added the standard "Component/s" field to that screen. When testing the screen, I can see the Component/s field but can't add anything to it - it appears to be read only.

Any ideas what is wrong?

Thanks in advance.

6 answers

1 vote
tstahr July 20, 2012

To follow-up, I did contact Atlassian Support on this one.

The issue was caused by the fact that I was using a version of the JIRA Suites Utilities plugin that was not compatible with my version of Jira. This caused 3 strange behaviors all related to creating an issue:

1. Components could not be added
  2. Attachments could not be added
  3. When creating an issue, the "Create Issue" window did not result in a new pop-up window but just opened in the existing window.

Lesson learned - versioning of plugins matters :-)

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 26, 2012

Worth a try - at least it's good to know it's limited to the components field, and that probably rules out any code (css, js etc) that they share. Definitely one for Atlassian now I think!

0 votes
tstahr June 26, 2012

I added the multi-select list to the create screen and it worked and I didn't see anything in the html that gave me any clues. At this point, I will reach out to Atlassian support. I'll update this if I find out what is wrong.

Thanks for the troubleshooting help! I really appreciate it.

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 26, 2012