Export Jira Backlog to Excel

Krisna Leo Parista August 28, 2021

Hello,

I am a newbie as a scrum master. I exported all my active sprint into excel via filter JQL,

but then I do not know how to export Backlog Jira into excel, can't find in filter JQL.

Could somebody please help me? Thank you so much! 

convert backlog to jira.jpg

Cheers,
Krisna

2 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 28, 2021

You can create a JQL filter in the Advanced Search that equates to your backlog and export from there. Assuming your backlog consists of a status of “To Do” then it would look like this

project = abc and status = “To Do” and sprint not in opensprints()

Krisna Leo Parista August 29, 2021

Yup, this is working.. thank you so much Jack :)

Cheers,
Krisna

Susan Parker September 9, 2021

I have the same issue, but I'm not very good with JQL, and this isn't working for me (after I replace 'abc' with my project name, and status = "Open").

With this...

project = "project name" AND status = "Open" AND sprint not in opensprints()

... my results are 19 issues that ARE in sprints (status = open) and not in the backlog (227 issues).  

PS:

Also, how would I construct this query if items in the backlog have some statuses other than open, like "pending information" - just use "OR" between status ='s? 

Michael P September 20, 2021

Hi @Susan Parker. The above didn't work for me either. You might try the following, tweaking as necessary:

project = projectName AND status = "To Do" AND resolution = Unresolved AND Sprint is EMPTY and type != Epic

project = projectName AND resolution = Unresolved AND (Sprint not in openSprints() OR Sprint is EMPTY) AND type != Epic ORDER BY Rank ASC