Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are Jira forms still in the 90's?

Ricardo_Gomes March 3, 2022

Hi,

I know there are multiple discussions on the subject and I don't want to beat the dead horse here, but the truth is that none of those discussions are conclusive or satisfactory when it comes to providing a solution or option to these questions. Simply because there is no solution when it comes to dynamic forms and Jira Cloud.

Now, I understand forms were very stiff and ugly static looking in the 90's, but come on! We're in 2022 and we still have to face the same inefficient and static forms to this day? But why?

I have been an Atlassian admin now for a few years but I still struggle to understand this -

See, when it comes to forms (and a quick disclaimer here: I know there's so much more to Jira then just forms - but this needs to stop being an excuse for Atlassian), Jira is all about forms! 

I asked one of the new onboarders into the company once: "what do you know about Jira?" - and he answered: "Not a whole lot, but I've used before and it's just basically a web form to create tickets and manage those tickets and fields later".

Of course, there are workflows, permissions, notifications, etc., but let's be honest - Jira is all about forms!

This leads to my point here - how come forms in Jira are so crippled? 

There are no dynamic forms at all, there are no dynamic fields, no fields grouping, no fields bundling based on previous selection, no dynamic fields creation, no fields hiding or revealing. Nothing, none of that!