What are common themes you've seen across successful & failed Jira Software implementations?

Sarah Schuster
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 29, 2018

Hey everyone! My name is Sarah Schuster, and I'm a Customer Success Manager in Atlassian specializing in Jira Software Cloud. Over the next few weeks I will be posting discussion topics (8 total) to get your expert advice to help new or first-time Jira Software Admins be successful. This advice will be incorporated into our inaugural New Jira Software (Cloud) Administrator Playbook (release date: Spring 2018) - we are all so excited!

I'm amazed at the responses seen for the first thread topic, and I'm hoping to get your expertise on this week's topic: Jira Software Implementation Success

So discussion topic #2 (of 8): What are common themes you've seen across successful & failed Jira Software implementations?

Let us know below!

Sarah

12 comments

Comment

Jack [AppFox]
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
January 30, 2018

Let me start off with a handful of good and bad things I've seen over the last few years - Jira Software Cloud focused - I focus on the application over the more organisational aspects like a good Scrum Master and following Agile Practices correctly ;):

Successful

• Using Dashboards and creating Dashboards for each of the Roles in your Projects, which presents relevant information to them for their Job Role.
  • Using Agile Boards with appropriately customised options (Issue Detail View, Card Layout and Swimlanes) and knowing when to separate into multiple Boards.
  • Use a planning plugin (e.g. Planning Poker) to start increasing your teams' abilities in estimating work correctly.