Project - Best practices and use

Bob Boursaw January 27, 2021

Hello, 

I am pretty new to the Jira products and have a question about Projects, specifically, how they "should" be used.  For example, would you expect to have a project defined for specific "things" like Proposals, Licensing, Internal, Sales and Marketing, where each of those would relate to various products you develop?  To me, this doesn't seem appropriate and you should have artifacts of each of these types within a given project.  Am I correct in that a project should be inclusive of an entire body of work and everything associated with that should be within the project?  

Let me give an example.

We have a software product APP1

App1 has a product backlog with many issues, tests, etc..  There will be many test plans executed against it, normal stuff.  Also, there will be proposals, licensing, sales initiatives, etc. all specific to this APP1.  So, shouldn't ALL artifacts of all types (issues, tickets, tests, sprints, etc.) all be within this one project?  It seems backwards to me to have multiple projects where some of your projects are components/artifacts of others.  This feels like were creating a very messy many-to-many relationship between projects and my understanding was that a Project should encompass the entire body of work and all things related to that project.

Any feedback on this would be greatly appreciated.

Bob

2 comments

Comment

Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 27, 2021

Hi @Bob Boursaw 

Jira is an Issue tracker, issue being a task or an activity that has a lifecycle.

For your use case, let us take look at them one by one.

Proposals