Jira Cloud New Issue View - The Good the Bad and the Ugly

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 17, 2019

rollercoaster.jpg

Introduction

I have been working with Atlassian products for many years now. I started out with server solution for Jira and Confluence back in about 2011 and that carried me thru two different companies. In 2016, I moved to the Cloud for my new and current company. As many will likely agree, the Cloud can be a bit of a roller coaster with all the patience of climbing the hills to the excitement and sometimes scary dips and turns. While I have certainly been frustrated at times navigating thru sometimes daily surprises I will say that I love the Cloud warts and all. IMO, the benefits far outweigh the negatives. At the same time I am quick to acknowledge that Cloud isn't for everyone. At least not yet. ;-)

As an active Community Leader one thing is for sure, I get a great deal of exposure to how others feel about the Atlassian products. I thought I would start a discussion here about one of the more polarizing changes that has been introduced in the last year - Jira Cloud New Issue View.

My goal for this discussion is to create a thread where folks can share the things they love, hate and remain hopeful for where the new issue view is concerned.

Rules of Engagement

I want to make this a positive experience for all but also want folks to share how the honestly feel. I want this thread to be something that Atlassian product managers can review and leverage when making decisions about the changes they rollout for the new issue view. With that in mind please consider the following when replying:

• Keep it clean - express your frustration but in a constructive manner
  • Play nice with others - feel free to challenge or question others input but respect their input