Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Isolate Users in Groups

Iman Rameshni January 10, 2021

Hello all, I am a Jira admin and I manage several projects, recently I created separate groups for each project, now I need to isolate group members, I mean I need to somehow configure groups so that a group member only can find other group members even if he/she search for a person in People section he can only find his group members and not find other groups members; is it possible in Jira? and how can I configure it?

2 comments

Comment

Alexander Pappert
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 10, 2021

in project permission, you can configure the groups which can be an assignee of the issue.

user a is in group a

user b is in group b

permission says only group a members can be assignee

so user a can not find/see user b

Like Monika Rani likes this
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 10, 2021

No, Jira has no way to hide people - you can either see and search for everyone, or you can not.  The "browse users" permission in global permissions is simply on or off for a person.

Like # people like this
Iman Rameshni January 11, 2021

Thanks,
Then if I disable "browse users" permission, can users assign a task to another user?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 11, 2021

Yes, they can, but they'll need to know the name of the other user, as they'll have to type it in full to get it selected.