Introducing Pinned Fields

Matthew Canham
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 15, 2020

Pinned Fields Banner.png

Hi Atlassian Community,

My name is Matt, I'm a product manager on the Jira Cloud team. Today we are excited to announce the arrival of Pinned Fields to the new issue view in Jira Cloud. Pinned Fields allows users of the new issue view to choose fields to “pin” above others. Even fields that an admin has configured to sit below the “Show more” dropdown can be pinned.

To pin a field to the top of your issue view simply click on the 📌 icon next to any field’s label. The order of the pinned fields is determined by the order you pin them in.

Pinned Fields Screenshot.png

End-users and admins have told us that they need more power to layout the new issue view in a way that it right for them and their teams. We’re working hard to address these problems and Pinned Fields is the first in a series of releases that is going to make the new issue view flexible enough to work for every team.

If you have any feedback on Pinned Fields or want to send some 💙 to the team, please leave a comment below; we’d love to hear from you.

23 comments

Comment

Dave Liao
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 17, 2020

@Matthew Canham - I was pleasantly surprised to run into this feature! It's a cool Quality of Life feature. Pinning fields seems to be a straightforward task. 👍

Like # people like this
Alis-Hathway Ward (DO NOT USE) July 19, 2021

Yeah, that's the problem, though. It's not discoverable because they show the icon on hover.

John Wilson October 19, 2020

This looks like it might be a useful feature for our users, but I don't see it on our site: asudev.jira.com. Any reason we don't have it yet?

Thanks, John Wilson

Matthew Canham