Using Scriptrunner for Jira to calculate a date custom field based on another date custom field

Gordon Rutherford July 6, 2021

Hi

We have a custom field date (Deadline) that is populated by a user and another custom field date (Sample Delivery Date) that we would we like Scriptrunner to auto populate with a 2 weeks (14 days) 'before' Deadline date value.

For example: I add 15/07/21 as my 'Deadline' date and SR auto populates/calculates value of 'Sample Delivery Date' as1/07/21.

I would like this relationship to be dynamic - the Deadline date could be added on Issue creation or changed later and the Sample Delivery Date should update automatically.

I am a newbie with SR runner but imagine this would be done as a behavior. 

Any help very much appreciated!

Thanks

Gordon

2 answers

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Ram Kumar Aravindakshan _Adaptavist_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 6, 2021

Hi @Gordon Rutherford

For your requirement, the best approach will be to use the Scripted Field.

In your scenario, the Sample Delivery Date will be the Scripted Field.

Below a working sample code for your reference:-

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import java.text.SimpleDateFormat

def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.customFieldManager
def deadline = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectsByName("Deadline")[0]

def sdf = new SimpleDateFormat("yyyy-MM-dd")
def deadlineValue = sdf.parse(issue.getCustomFieldValue(deadline).toString())

deadlineValue + 14

Below is a print screen of an example Scripted Field configuration for your reference.

scripted_field_config.png

If you view the print screen above, the field name given is Sample Delivery Date. And, the script takes the value from the Deadline field and adds 14 days to it.