Problem with REST API issue search by Custom Field

Amir Katz (Outseer)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
June 15, 2022

Background

In our Jira Cloud, we have > 1600 custom fields (don't ask why...). I took upon myself to perform a cleanup of the CFs. I am a Jira admin, of course.

A CF can be deleted if all the below conditions are met:

1. It is not a LOCKED field
  2. It is not included in any screens
  3. Its Last Used date is empty
  4. It does not appear in any issue

Items 1-3 can be viewed in the Jira UI when you go to Settings --> Issue --> Custom Fields and search for your CF by name.

Condition #4 is not readily visible and it requires you to perform a simple JQL search:

"<field-name>" is NOT EMPTY

This is assuming that the field name is unique, which may not be the case, but that's another story...

Problem

The problem that I see that for many CFs, the above search returns an error:

Field 'enVision RCA Fault Code' does not exist or you do not have permission to view it.

When I perform this search with the Jira REST API, using the field ID, the REST API returns 400 ("bad request").

The above field is a single choice select list, so the query is definitely valid.

I know for a fact that this field is not in a team-managed project.

The REST API call payload (for this CF) is {"jql": "cf[11335] is not EMPTY"}

The REST API documentation says that 400 means 'Returned if the JQL query is invalid.'

I get this error for many, many CFs, so I wonder if I'm doing anything wrong.

Thanks.

References

REST API: https://developer.atlassian.com/cloud/jira/platform/rest/v3/api-group-issue-search/#api-rest-api-3-search-get

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Amir Katz (Outseer)
Rising Star
Rising Star