• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Org and Site Admins can't change email addresses

We have four users we need to update email addresses for. I am a SITE ADMIN. When I click on the field in the user's profile it says it is set by an admin and won't let me edit it. I also have the ORG & SITE ADMIN account. Tried doing the same action when logged into that account, but get the same result. I can't update the email addresses for the four users. Read through all of the documentation, but can't replicate the pages in the documentation. What I tried:

Went to User Management

Clicked on the user I want to edit

It does not give me the ability to edit their email or organization information.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
John Funk Community Leader Oct 27, 2020

Hi David,

Is your instance a Managed Account (meaning the Domain has been verified)? If so, then you can go to the Directory (top nav option in User Management), search for the user and then change the email address there. 

Thanks for the response John. I believe the Domain has been verified; Managed Account.

Under User Management the following are the only options:

1. Users
  2. Groups
  3. Access requests
  4. Jira Service Desk

I don't see "Directory". I am currently logged in under my SITE ADMIN account.

~Dave

@David Palmer you should go to admin.atlassian.com, click on the organization you want to manage, then "Directory" in the top menu and finally "Managed accounts" in the left sidebar. If at any of these step you do not have access — you are not "Organization admin" and cannot make these changes.