Migrating data from account to new jira account

Abdel_Aziz_Addas October 7, 2018

Hi guys i am new to Jira and trying to migrate data from a current jira account to new one, but whenever i export the data and then import it the information is mixed and not shown properly.

1 answer

0 votes
Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 8, 2018

Not sure I understand the problem here.  Could you please try to answer these questions to help us better understand the issue here?

1. What versions are each Jira using (source and destination)?
  2. What export/import methods are being used (project xml backup, CSV, other)?
  3. How exactly does the data look to be mixed up?   An example would be helpful here to better understand the scope of the problem.

Thanks

Andy

Abdel_Aziz_Addas October 9, 2018

Hi Andy,

Thank you for your response, and please excuse my ignorance.

1. The destination Jira is the latest version 7.12.2 (cloud hosting), the source version is 7.7.0
  2. CVS.
  3. I managed to get most of the things right but there are 3 things that i are still not migrating properly:
    1. All reporter names are assigned to my name, and the reason being mentioned is that the other emails cannot be found. Which is true since we will be having a completely new team.
    2. The comments are on each issue are not being transferred.
    3. The attachments as well.

Thanks,

Aziz

Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
October 9, 2018

Ok, thanks for that info.