Jira sprint permissions with filter of multiple projects

Joseph Hoskins February 2, 2021

First off I just want to say that I am the Jira admin. I have a user that created a filter that includes multiple projects that they want to use to run sprints. However the user (Scott) does not have the ability to create/ start-Stop/ Edit a sprint. Funny thing is that I can do all the functions on the board and he has more access than I do for the projects. Unless its because I am an Admin.

JQL - (Project not in (LFTProduction, "NBN Factory", LFTProduction, "PM POC Template", "TEST Priority Sheet ", "Training Project", "Xray Test Project Repository") ) AND (issuetype in (Bug, Epic, "ME Activity", Objective, Risk, Story, Task, "Work Package", Sub-task) AND assignee in (membersOf(Ventilation)))

JQL contains 44 projects out of 51 total.

Set up is as follows:

Permissions - Manage, edit, Start/ Stop - Role based and Group based (Jira Project Admin). User is in both.

PermScheme.JPGPermScheme2.JPG

Projects permissions - User is in the admin role of all projects that are included in the filter (best I can tell). 

Project Roles for user:Proj 1.JPG

Proj 2.JPGProj 3.JPG

I know that I am missing something simple somewhere. I just cannot figure out where. I know its a complex search but with all the permissions set it should allow it,

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Kit Friend
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 2, 2021

@Joseph Hoskins had this a few times, it always comes down to the user not having sufficient permissions in (at least) one of the projects you're pull in. Quickest way to check is using the permission helper, but I can't think how you'd be able to do it across 40+ projects simultaneously I'm afraid...