How to create Epic template that generates stories automatically

Matthew Van Doremalen
I'm New Here
I'm New Here
Those new to the Atlassian Community have posted less than three times. Give them a warm welcome!
August 25, 2023

Hello,

I am an engineer developing code to deploy applications out to global workstations. Instead of creating the individual stories for my sub-tasks I end up just creating one story that may or may not be completed in this sprint cycle and just add comments to it. I would like to be more efficient and professional in this approach. What I am asking help to create would allow me (and others) to efficiently create Epics when needed and for reoccurring work that still needs to be in Jira.

Here is what I would like to do:

• Create new Epic
    • Select "Application Packaging" "Template"
  • Using my Epic "Template", Jira automatically creates multiple stories and links them to this new Epic
    • Research - "Application Packaging Discovery - XYZ"
    • Execute - "Application Packaging Development - XYZ"
    • Execute - "Application Packaging Testing - XYZ"
    • Planning - "Application Packaging Change Control - XYZ"
    • Execute - "Application Packaging Pilot Deployment - XYZ"
    • Execute - "Application Packaging Production Deployment - XYZ"

I tried searching for this in the forum but could not find an answer. If someone could tell me how this works or point me to the documentation for me to learn that would be great.

Thank you!

7 answers

3 votes
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 25, 2023

Hello @Matthew Van Doremalen 

Welcome to the Atlassian community.

Are you working with issues in a Team Managed project or a Company Managed project?

This may be able to be accomplished, depending on the above, by importing data from a CSV file or by using an Automation Rule.