Copying parent and child parts of cascading select custom field to 2 separate custom fields

Sandra Meessen April 29, 2019

Hi all,

I have a cascading custom field and 2 separate single select custom fields. I want to copy the parent part of the cascading cf to 1 separate single select custom field and copy the child part of the cascading cf to the other single select custom field. 

Copying the child part works correct via the JSU post function "Copy value from other field"

Copying the parent part I didn't find a solution yet. Who can help me? I am not experienced in Scriptrunner coding, I could use your help there.

Thank you and kind regards, Sandra

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Elifcan Cakmak
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 29, 2019

Hello,

Let's assume you have a cascading field with values:

a - 1, 2

b - 3, 4

c - 5,6

And two single select list customfields with values:

a, b, c,

In this scenario you can use below script to set single select lists based on the cascading field values:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.MutableIssue
import com.atlassian.jira.user.ApplicationUser
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.fields.CustomField
import com.atlassian.jira.event.type.EventDispatchOption
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.customfields.manager.OptionsManager

def issueManager = ComponentAccessor.getIssueManager()
def issue = issueManager.getIssueObject("DSP-4")
def userManager = ComponentAccessor.getUserManager()
def authenticationContext = ComponentAccessor.getJiraAuthenticationContext()
def user = authenticationContext.getLoggedInUser()
def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager()
def optionsManager = ComponentAccessor.getOptionsManager()