Completed stories are showing up in the backlog. What am I doing wrong?

Rick Leffler February 3, 2013

Hello!

I'm having an issue where completed stories from the previous sprints of the same project are displaying in the backlog.

They don't have any story points associated and all of their associated tasks are complete.

What steps am I missing when starting/ending sprints?

ex:

Sprint 1:
Story 001 - As a developer, I can collect dog photos

• Task 001 - Research best places for dog photos
  • Task 002 - Subscribe to digital content sites for dog photos
  • Task 003 - Sort through photos and generate a top 10 list

Estimated time, 2 weeks

(8 weeks later)

Sprint 1 is long over. Story 001 and it's tasks are complete.

Now, currently on Sprint 4, I see Story 001 displaying in the Backlog.

It no longer has story points associated with it, and the history doesn't show that it was ever in Sprint 1.

Story 001 shows as "Open", but it hasn't been touched in 2 months. All of it's tasks are complete and there's no time remaining.

After Sprint 1 ended, I closed the sprint and started Sprint 2.

What steps am I missing here?

Thanks!

- Rick

4 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 3, 2013

Generally, the filter that pulls out issues for the backlog has this JQL part:

AND NOT {status in ("5", "6")}

Does your issue status match the status not found in the Done column?

All of my quickfilters appear to be correct.

However, I did notice that the stories in question are status: "Unresolved"

This doesn't appear to be the case for all stories, just a few.

Wouldn't closing the sprint, with all tasks complete, resolve the story?

Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star