Approvers in Jira tickets

Yair February 28, 2022

Hi All

I am a Jira Noob so Im probably missing some basics. 

I started working at a company and in their Jira tickets, when an approver is selected, they receive the request but when they try opening the ticket they get a big lock picture saying they dont have the correct permissions. 

We have used the permission checker tool, they seem to have the correct permissions but they are still locked out of the ticket and cant approve. 

Is there a specific "approvers" permission I can add them to? I dont see this on the "permissions' section in the project settings.

Another question I have is, the "people" section of the project settings, what does this show? It only lists 20 people out of aprox 90 in the company. Does this just list specific people and their predefined permissions?

Thanks for taking the time to help out :)

1 answer

0 votes
Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 28, 2022

Hello @Yair 

Is there any way you can show screenshots of the permissions checker?  Also, approvals are generally done on Jira Core Server through Marketplace apps and/or Groovy scripting, so I'll need to know what you're using.

To answer your question on the "people" section.  The 20 people listed are members of the project.  In Jira, you can encapsulate the group effort of a team as a project.  So, it will occur that you will have many projects in Jira.

Hope this helps!

Yair March 1, 2022

Hey @Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_ 

The members of the project, are only they able to approve tickets or can other people also approve?

Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 1, 2022

@Yair