• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Powershell Invoke-RestMethod returns 500 "Unexpected character" Edited

Preface:

I am very new to Powershell and webrequests. I may miss something very obvious, or have not understood the solutions others have posted in questions about similar issues.

Purpose:

Access to our Atlassian instance is controlled through groups in Azure AD.

I have a small script that will create a group for a new project or Confluence space in AAD.
I want to extend this script to also create the new project/space, and have a "one stop shop" script.

I want this to work in Powershell, in order to simplify the excecution of scripts for those who will be using it.

Code:

$user = [System.Text.Encoding]::UTF8.GetBytes("MY-EMAIL:MY-TOKEN")
$headers =@{
Authorization="Basic " + [System.Convert]::ToBase64String($user)
Accept="application/json"
}
$projectTypeKey = "service_desk"
$projectTemplateKey = "com.atlassian.servicedesk:itil-v2-service-desk-project"
$Projectname = "Ninja Project"
$body =@{

"key" = $key
"name" = $ProjectName
"leadId" = "MY-ID"
"projectTypeKey" = $projectTypeKey
"projectTemplateKey" = $projectTemplateKey

}
$uri = "https://MYSITE.atlassian.net/rest/api/3/project"

Invoke-RestMethod -Uri $uri -Method POST -Headers $headers -Body $body -ContentType "application/json"

Error: